Captain America: Civil War Review – Best Marvel Movie So Far


CivilWar56e1aedc39124

Today is Captain America: Civil War Day! It is finally in theaters everywhere and I can make everyone I know go see it. I got to be one of the first people to see Captain America: Civil War when I was in Los Angeles for the #CaptainAmericaEvent in April. I had to wait until today to tell you all about how much I loved it. Of course if you have been reading my interviews with the amazing cast of the movie then you already know I am kind of in awe of this movie. I believe it is the best Marvel movie so far and that is setting the bar really high.

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War Sokovia Accords Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War – Sokovia Accords – Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2016

There is never a winner in war. War changes us all. And this movie will break your heart but in a good “I love this movie so much” kind of way. It does not matter if you go into it being #TeamCap or #TeamIronMan, war affects your perception. The Avengers are fighting a war and are being split apart from the inside. Everyone knows that much about the movies from the previews so no spoilers. This is such a fantastic movie. It will make you want to go back and watch it again that very day. Here is a quote from my interview with the Directors, the Russo brothers.

Anthony Russo – We always thought about this movie as a psychological thriller. And that shift was very important to us because the heart of this movie for us is the relationship and the conflict between Captain America, Bucky Barnes, and Tony Stark. What has to play out between those three characters in the climax of the film that we are driving towards as storytellers for the whole movie. We are setting up that sort of awful reveal and that awful tension that plays out between those characters in that moment.

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War..L to R: Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)..Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal..? Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War..L to R: Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)..Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal..? Marvel 2016

That sets the stage for the whole movie. He also said, “For us, it was very important to find where’s Steve Rogers vulnerable? Where is Tony Stark vulnerable? And sort of play to those in this movie in a way that would put them in conflict with one another.”  They found their vulnerability and cracked it open. It made my heart hurt. But I was also going into the movie knowing what happens in the comics. The MCU is different. It has a different story line but I knew what each character was standing up for. I am with Tony. Super beings need to be monitored. They need to have some sort of check system. Maybe not the corrupt government but something. No one should be allowed to have ultimate power with no threat of punishment. That is how villains are born. And superheroes attract super villains. It is the way of the world.

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War..Scarlet Witch/Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen)..Photo Credit: Film Frame..© Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War..Scarlet Witch/Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen)..Photo Credit: Film Frame..© Marvel 2016

This movie had so much action. It seemed like every other scene was a fight scene. The whole movie was edge of your seat, holding your breathe, hoping that what you think is about to happen doesn’t or does happen. I remember moving my body in one of the scenes like I was the character and could prevent them from getting hit. It draws you in and makes you a part of it. And the new characters will make you wish that you had all the amazon and Disney giftcards to buy all the new figures and shirts! Speaking of Disney, they generously gave us each a gift card to try out the Personalization Shop on the Disney Store website.

disneystore-personalization-shop-1 disneystore-personalization-shop-2

Elijah picked the Civil War shirt and told me he liked both. He thought it was cool that it had his name on it. Moriah picked out the Minnie Mouse shirt with her name on it and got to wear it for her birthday. We had a bubble party and everyone had too much red juice but amazingly the stains came out of the shirts. It was very easy to personalize items and they had a whole range of things you could personalize. You should check it out!

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War -Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)
Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2016

All of the characters in the movie were so fantastic. Especially Robert Downey Jr. I mean I know that I am #TeamIronMan but he really did put on an amazing performance. Even Chris Evans says the hardest scenes for him to shoot are the ones with RDJ because he is so good, he “owns the oxygen”.  I can believe that. He talks in the movie and people listen. He makes things happen. Chadwick Boseman is a great addition. And his Black Panther scenes are all full of action. I really enjoyed his accent in the movie. It was soothing just like his character out of his costume.

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War L to R: Falcon/Sam Wilson (Anthony Mackie), Ant-Man/Scott Lang (Paul Rudd), Hawkeye/Clint Barton (Jeremy Renner), Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans), Scarlet Witch/Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen), and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2016

I love the new equipment and new suits in the movie and you are going to as well. Everyone has had an upgrade it seems! Hawkeye has new arrows, Falcon has some amazing new tech, and we won’t even mention Ant-Man. Please come back and tell me what you think of Ant-Man’s new stuff! I do not know what else I can say. Oh yeah, Spider-Man is beyond awesome. He is the Spider-Man I love. He is a kid and he is sarcastic and he is SMART. I hate that the other movies do not focus on how smart he is. Tom Holland is absolutely perfect for this role and he rocked it.

@Marvel
© Marvel 2016

It is so much more than just a fight between Captain America, Iron Man, and the Winter Soldier. Go see the movie. Today. Tomorrow. Twice next week. Just see it and tell me that it is the best Marvel movie so far. I am going again on Sunday as my Mother’s Day gift to myself.

About Captain America: Civil War
Marvel’s “Captain America: Civil War” finds Steve Rogers leading the newly formed team of Avengers in their continued efforts to safeguard humanity. But after another incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of accountability, headed by a governing body to oversee and direct the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers, resulting in two camps—one led by Steve Rogers and his desire for the Avengers to remain free to defend humanity without government interference, and the other following Tony Stark’s surprising decision to support government oversight and accountability.

Like CAPTAIN AMERICA on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaptainAmerica
Follow CAPTAIN AMERICA on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaptainAmerica
Follow Marvel on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/marvel/
Visit the official CAPTAIN AMERICA website here: http://marvel.com/captainamerica


Author: Kat

Kat is a married mom of three kids aged 19, 11, and 8 that lives close to Birmingham, AL. She loves cats, books, cooking, hockey, and watching movies. She is an admitted nerd, comic book lover, action figure & barbie doll collector, blackjack dealer, beginner croupier, and all around queen of the dorks. You can reach her at topkat@katbalogger.com to talk about product reviews, press trips, sponsorships, or brand messaging.

2 thoughts on “Captain America: Civil War Review – Best Marvel Movie So Far”

  1. I haven’t seen any of them yet. I wonder if I can start at this one or if I have to see the others to follow the plot line

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.